PHOEBE THE FRENCHIE, WITH EPILEPSY

Phoebe is a beautiful 2- year-old fawn Frenchie with light hazelnut (almost yellow) eyes. She was surrendered at the beginning of the pandemic due to the severity of her medical condition. Although she’s having a blast with her foster family it’s time for her to find her forever home.  

Phoebe suffers from epileptic cluster seizures. She has episodes on average every 3 weeks when she experiences multiple, consecutive seizures. These seizures need to be medically stopped to minimize the stress on her body. This condition is being followed by a specialist and a team of experienced medical professionals, but finding the right balance of medication can take a while to get the episodes « under control ». Although epilepsy is not curable and Phoebe will have to be medicated all of her life, she needs someone who is home most of the time as she can’t be left unsupervised for too long in case of an episode. During this period of figuring out the right balance of medication for her, her guardian will have to be extremely precise and observant, and will have to follow a very strict medication schedule (every 8 hours, even at night). Phoebe will need to see a vet regularly, so availability and a car are necessary.

Phoebe loves every dog, cat and especially every human she meets. She has some issues reading other animal’s body language so it’s important to keep an eye on her when meeting new friends. She’s a very joyful and happy girl, and like a real Frenchie, she will go above and beyond to receive love and attention. Her favorite things are sleeping, eating, chewing on her bone and making new human friends. She’s not a fan of long walks but she enjoys playing fetch quite a bit. She’s young and still very excitable but she’s a quick learner and a people pleaser, so with consistent training she will be a perfect companion. In foster care she has learned basic training and has aced all of her classes. When there’s a treat, there’s a way!

Phoebe is spayed, vaccinated and microchipped. She weighs 13kg (28.7 lbs.)

Firm requirements: Someone who works from home or is home a good part of the day. A house with a secure fenced yard. NO swimming pools. 

Due to the large volume of emails we receive, only those candidates that match her profile will be responded to. 

If interested, please CONTACT US and we will forward a questionnaire.